Ferroelectric School

National Key Laboratory of new ceramics and fine processing, School of materials, Tsinghua University and IEEE-UFFCS jointly hold international Ferroelectric School

From December 9 to 13, 2019, the first international Ferroelectrics School was successfully held at the Foxconn nanotechnology research center in Tsinghua University. The event was jointly organized by School of materials, State Key Laboratory of new ceramics and fine processing of Tsinghua University and IEEE-UFFCS, and it was the first time IEEE-UFFCS held in the world.

The course lasted for five days, and 14 domestic and foreign experts in the field of ferroelectric materials were invited to give lectures, covering various directions from basic science to material application. More than 200 outstanding graduate students in related fields all over the world have signed up. Through strict selection, 49 students were invited to the scene. The activities of this training class are richly colorful, including 14 lectures related to the field of ferroelectricity, 1 student academic speech competition, and 1 lecture on traditional Chinese culture. In 14 lectures in the field of ferroelectrics, students were able to communicate with leading scholars in the field of ferroelectrics in a short distance and have access to the most systematic and cutting-edge academic knowledge and information of ferroelectrics in the world. In the students' academic speech contest, experts gave constructive suggestions about the content and expression of all students' speeches and gave valuable guidance to their scientific research work. In the lecture of traditional Chinese culture, experts and students gather to promote Chinese culture and deepen mutual understanding and friendship. At the same time, the training course also provides a good communication platform for the workers all around the world in the field of ferroelectric materials. The invited scholars can inspire each other and learn from each other through in-depth communication between lectures, tea breaks and other lectures, which will promote a healthy development of the academic community.

As an excellent learning platform, the training class has gathered top scholars from domestic and abroad to cultivate students' academic ability, which is a meaningful communication opportunity and was highly praised by the participants.

List of invited experts (in alphabetical order)

1. Barbara malič, Josef Stefan Institute, Slovenia

2. Brahim Dkhil, University of Thackeray, Paris, France

3. Hiroshi Funakubo, Tokyo Institute of technology, Japan

4. Hong Wang, South University of Science and Technology, China

5. Jacob Jones, North Carolina State University, USA

6. John Daniels, University of New South Wales, Australia

7. Jun Ming Liu, Nanjing University, China

8. Jurij Koruza,Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany

9. Michelle Dolgos, Oregon State University, USA

10. Neus Domingo, Catalonia Institute of nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Spain

11. Seungbum Hong, Korean Academy of Science and Technology, Korea

12. Shujun Zhang, University of Wollongong, Australia

13. Yang Shen, Tsinghua University, China

14. Zuoguang Ye, Simon Fraser University, Canada